33. Abattoir Blues / The Lyre of Orpheus – Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds

Brief Background: Abattoir Blues / The Lyre of Orpheus is the thirteenth album from the Australian band Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds. The double album was recorded in March and April of 2004 and released in September of the same year.

What I Think: This is a really great double album that is full of great Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds songs. Some of the reviews on the Wikipedia page state that The Lyre of Oprheus has some filler. I didn’t find that to be true. It is certainly slower and more acoustic, but the songs are still great. Another bonus is that this is a double album that runs 82 minutes long instead of being over two hours.

The top songs are “There She Goes, My Beautiful World” from Abbatoir Blues, which is my new favorite Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds song. The second is “Breathless” from The Lyre of Orpheus.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I agree. It’s a typically extremely sold album from the band.

Rating (Out of 5) 4/5

Abattoir Blues / The Lyre of Orpheus: on Amazon: 4.8

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (744/969) (Percent that are new to me: 77)


Leave a comment