1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

566. Ambient 1: Music for Airports – Brian Eno

Brief Background: Ambient 1: Music for Airports is the sixth studio album by Brian Eno. The album was made by looping tape sections of different keyboard instruments. The album is titled for it’s exact purpose. Eno felt the music should be interesting, but able to let your mind ignore it.

What I think: I really appreciate this as a piece of art and for the concept of it. I listened to it while driving (Despite the title, Eno wanted it to be effective in different settings), and my mind certainly wandered onto different ideas, once and a while consciously coming back to the music. That’s not what I listen to music for though, I want it to focus my mind on what I’m listening to. I have all the time in the world for rumination, that comes easy to me.

So the music is for songs of keyboard and piano and the occasional vocal parts coming in and out. I do find the first track really beautiful and the others not as much so, but not far afield either.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I do think everyone should listen to it once (or at least part of it), it’s an interesting concept that succeeds in its purpose. Is it something I would like to hear again or listen to on a regular basis? No. This makes it hard to give a score to. I’m going to go lower, because music should be there for those repeated listens.

Rating (Out of 5): 1.5/5 

Amazon Rating of Music for Airports 4.7/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (335/437)

Amount that are new to me: 77%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2017 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
