1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

568. C’est Chic – Chic

Brief Background: C’est Chic is the second album by funk and disco band Chic. It was recorded and released in 1978.

What I think: Like a seemingly large part of the general population, I have a strong dislike for Disco. As I try to expand my musical horizons, I thought maybe this would be a fun listen. It was not. The whole thing is filled with sugar and there is nothing substantive to sustain it.  That is perfectly fine when you have the singles like “Le Freak” or “I Want Your Love”, but a whole album of it starts to be an endurance test. My main gripe, is it seems like they spent some time on the music (which when it veers from the Disco towards funk isn’t all that bad, unfortunately that rarely happens), but then they lyrics came along, they thought of a hook and just repeated it over and over. “At last I Am Free” is seven minutes of them singing that along with the line “I can hardly see in front of me”, which makes no sense. What does that have to do with being free and why must you repeat it 900 times? Once that is finished you have “Sometimes You Win”, which basically repeats that line through the whole five minute song.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? It’s OK to let a fun singles band be just that,  there is no reason for anyone to search for more than that in Chic.

Rating (Out of 5): .5/5 

Amazon Rating of C’est Chic 5/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (333/434)

Amount that are new to me: 76%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 7, 2017 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
