1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

569. Stardust – Willie Nelson

Brief Background: Stardust is a an album of standards recorded at the end of 1977 and released in 1978. The album was produced by Booker T. Jones.

What I think: Coming up with an opinion on this album requires me to look at the songs one by one, and generally the songs I enjoy by other musicians I really enjoy when Nelson does them (“Georgia on My Mind”, “All of Me”, “Unchained Melody”). In the end it creates a likable, but not overly exciting album to listen to. One problem I have is that Nelsons vocals maybe too even on many of the songs. Take, “Unchained Melody” for example (one of my all time favorite songs). I enjoy Nelson’s version, the pacing is nice and the instrumentation brings out a lot of emotion, but his vocals play it really straight without any of the anguish that the Righteous Brothers brought and that leaves it lacking and that really sums up the album for me.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? It’s a fine album and I enjoyed it, but I don’t feel the magic so many others do when listening to it.

Rating (Out of 5): 2.5/5 

Amazon Rating of Stardust:  4.8/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (332/433)

Amount that are new to me: 76%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 6, 2017 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
