1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

573. Are We Not Men? We are Devo! – Devo

Brief Background: Are We Not Men? We Are Devo! is the debut album by the band Devo. The album was recorded through the end of 1977 and the beginning of 1978 being released in August of that year.  Are We Not Men?… was co produced by Brian Eno and David Bowie.

What I think: As I started listening to this album I was thinking, “Hmm… this sounds like a version of the Talking Heads. Maybe it’s a bit more stripped down, or elemental, but there is a lot of that sound in there”. I was not surprised to then read that the album was mainly produced by Brian Eno.

I knew “Uncontrollable Urge” and their cover of “Satisfaction”, and really enjoy both,  but I would never consider myself a Devo fan. They just always seemed too mechanical and soulless. That’s not really true with this album though. There is almost an LA punk element to it with the subversive humor and politics that reminds me a lot of what Blag Flag or NOFX would do later. These elements kept my enjoyment up throughout the album with “Space Junk” and “Gut Feeling/ (Slap Your Mammy)” being my two favorite songs. I ecspecially like how “Gut Feeling” starts sounding like a very serious song and then devolves into a lark.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I agree that this should be here, it really helps me look at Devo in a very different manor than I always have.

Rating (Out of 5): 4/5 

Amazon Rating of Are We Not Men?… :  4.7/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (329/430)

Amount that are new to me: 77%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 19, 2017 by and tagged , , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
