1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

576. Siembra – Ruebén Blades and Willie Colón

Brief Background: Siembra is one of the best ever selling salsa records of all time with over three million sales worldwide. The album was released in 1978.

What I think: In a break with my usual non-enjoyment of non-English records, this is a pretty good album. While I’m certainly no expert, I have been in a number of environments featuring salsa music and I think really gives this album a sense of familiarity that helps me settle down and take it in. I really like how they add small hints of disco and funk music throughout the album. My favorite song on the album is “Ojos” with its sort of call and response type lyrics and horn heavy sound.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I like it and I do agree that this is one that should be listened to.

Rating (Out of 5): 3.5/5 

Amazon Rating of Siembra:  4.7/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (327/427)

Amount that are new to me: 76%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 9, 2017 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
