1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

578. Van Halen – Van Halen

Brief Background: Van Halen is the self-titled debut album by the California band. It was recorded over a short period in mid 1977 and was released in early 1978. The album has sold over ten million copies in the U.S. alone.

What I think: With all that has happened with this band over the years, it’s easy to forget about the music and focus only on the drama. That’s really a shame though, especially on this album. It’s not something I’m going to listen to on a regular basis as I’m not as Roth’s vocals grate on me, but it’s a really tight and great sounding album. It really has a feeling of being original. It doesn’t seem like it came from Blues. It was born as hard rock.

I love how the rhythm section sounds. Anthony and Alex Van Halen have such a distinct and wonderful sound that is often overshadowed by Roth and Eddie. I also, have to give Eddie credit, for keeping both the songs and subsequently the solos short and precise. It could have been easy for him to stretch the solos out and put them in every song like the hair metal followers would later. Even “Eruption”which is basically a guitar solo throughout comes in at under two minutes.

My favorite songs on the album are the cover of the Kinks song “You Really Got Me”, “Jamies’s Cryin”, and “Feel Your Love Tonight” .

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I definately think it should be here, it’s one of those albums I can appreciate without really liking Roth’s vocals or the band’s Hard Rock sound.

 

Rating (Out of 5): 3.5/5 

Amazon Rating of Van Halen:  4.8/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (325/424)

Amount that are new to me: 76%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2017 by and tagged , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
