1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

579. Another Music in a Different Kitchen – Buzzcocks

Brief Background: Another Music in a Different Kitchen is the debut album by the English band Buzzcocks. The album was recorded at the end of ’77 and beginning of ’78 being released in March of that year.

What I think: I’ve been eagerly waiting for a Buzzcocks album to show up on this list. I’ve always liked the high energy songs I’ve heard from them on the radio. The album has honestly left me a bit underwhelmed, especially the first half. I don’t know what it is, because it is the sort of punk rock that I should love. The songs might be too much the same in not quite the right way. The second half mixes things up a little more and I do like that much better especially “Autonomy” and the seven minute long “Moving Away from the Pulse Beat” which has some of the coolest drumming and guitar work you will hear in a punk song.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to?  It’s an okay album, but I feel it definitely has some misses and that makes me feel like we could have skipped it.

 

Rating (Out of 5): 2.5/5 

Amazon Rating of Another Music in a Different Kitchen :  4.8/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (324/423)

Amount that are new to me: 76%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 30, 2017 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
