1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

592. This Year’s Model – Elvis Costello

Brief Background: This Year’s Model is Costello’s second record and was recorded in London during 1977 and 1978. It was released in March of 1978.

What I think: As I said in the My Aim is True post, I am in a minority in preferring that album to this. That being said, this album is no slouch. “No Action”, “The Beat”, “Pump It Up”, “Chelsea” “Lip Service” and “Radio Radio” all stand up to anything on that first album. As a whole though it just doesn’t go on the roll that My Aim is True does. There is also something about the sound of this album that has always bothered me a little. I can never put my finger on it, but the songs just seem a little stale. It isn’t over-produced, so it isn’t that. Maybe it’s just over rehearsed?  It’s not enough to ruin everything, it just takes away something from the overall feeling.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? No doubt that it should be here… It’s great. It’s just the lesser of his first two.

Rating (Out of 5) 4.5

Amazon Rating of This Year’s Model: 4.6/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (99/412)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 76%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 14, 2017 by and tagged , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
