1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

597. Never Mind the Bollocks Here’s the Sex Pistols – Sex Pistols

Brief Background: Never Mind the Bollocks… was recorded throughout the end of 1976 and into August of 1977. It was released in October of 1977.

What I think: I knew this album was coming for awhile and I’ve been giving it quite a bit of thought. Here you have the most infamous album of all time, with the band being dropped by numerous record companies, obscenity charges after its release and a bass player that couldn’t play.  Mostly, my thoughts were about how it almost seems like a parody at this point. Like, if a sitcom were to feature a bad imitation of punk rock a band like the Sex Pistols would be the what they would put on the show.

And then I listened to it again and all these thoughts were thrown out the window. The recordings on the album are tight as hell and there is a level of danger in them that was never matched again. I love the way the instruments sound in the recordings, especially the bass and guitar. Also, those short little solos are right up my alley. I just feel like I’m sixteen all over again and brings out an aggression I didn’t know I still had So you certainly have the side show (or was the the side show the music) and antics of the band, but the music could have stood on its own.

My favorites are hard to pick, but I’d say “Holidays in the Sun” (love the Berlin Wall part), “Bodies” , and “Pretty Vacant”. The album isn’t perfect though, there is some filler in “Liar” and “Seventeen”. I do have to also subtract respect for the homosexual slurs in “New York”.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? You have to hear it once for the spectacle, nothing in music will ever be as controversial again. In the end,  you have to keep listening because it kicks ass.

Rating (Out of 5) 4.5

Amazon Rating of Never Mind the Bollocks… : 4.5/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (97/405)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 76%

One comment on “597. Never Mind the Bollocks Here’s the Sex Pistols – Sex Pistols

  1. Sam V
    April 28, 2017

    I haven’t listened to this album since I was 14. I bet if I gave it another go, I wouldn’t be so old and boring- I like your assessment Dave, this blew me away when I first heard it. I’m definitely going to revisit.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 28, 2017 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
