1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

602. Marquee Moon – Television

This is my 400 post. It has taken me just under eleven months to do the last 100 and about three and a half years to get here. I figure the whole thing will be done in about nine years total. I’m still a having a ton of fun listening to these albums and writing the blog posts and I hope you are enjoying reading them!

My ratings for this 100.

5: 8

4.5: 18

4: 20

3.5: 11

3: 7

2.5: 11

2: 8

1.5: 6

1: 4

.5: 5

0: 2

Overall, I think you see the numbers leaning towards the upper end as this is certainly one of my favorite musical time periods.

Total over all 300.

5: 53

4.5: 57

4: 75

3.5: 54

3: 51

2.5: 27

2: 29

1.5: 19

1: 15

.5: 10

0: 10

Most Albums on the list:

7 for The Beatles and David Bowie (Shooting way up there!)

6 for the Rolling Stones, Neil Young (including Buffalo Springfield)

5 for The Byrds, Dylan and Led Zeppelin

4 Miles Davis, Joni Mitchell, Brian Eno (including Roxy), Steely Dan and Stevie Wonder

Albums by year (If I’ve tagged correctly):

1977: 20 (Thus far)

1976: 20

1975: 21

1974: 24

1973: 29

1972: 29

1971: 35

1970: 30

1969: 36 (I was surprised there were only five more than 1968, it certainly felt like 15+)

1968: 31

1967: 28

Now onto the real post: 

 

Brief Background: Marquee Moon is the debut album by the band Television. It was recorded in September 1976 and released in February of 1977. The band held off on recording the album for years as it waited for the right record deal. When it came time to actually go into the studio, the band was so well rehearsed that many of the songs were recorded live in one take (Including the 10 minute title track). The album is often listed predominately on best of album lists, especially those relating to the punk and indie rock (or alternative) genres.

What I think: This album somehow escaped my radar for many years. It wasn’t until a friend of mine was talking about it’s influence on his own guitar playing that I gave it a listen. And while that was about a dozen years ago, it seems like a short time compared to many other historic albums. It has been in regular rotation for me since then.

I kind of see this album as punk rock or art rock meets late sixties rock. I feel like it’s almost like what Creedence Clearwater Revival would have sounded like if they came from New York City in the late seventies. As a huge CCR fan that makes a great record. You have some great weaved guitar playing in these songs that vary from relatively short to the extended jam of “Marquee Moon”.  That title track is amazing in that extended jam… it is their “I Heard it Through the Grapevine”. The sound of the rhythm section is amazing as well, with many of their elemental parts being allowed to shine by not being buried by guitar the whole time.

Everything else is golden as well though with my favorites being “Friction” and the most pop oriented song “Guiding Light”.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? The album is a masterpiece, of course it should be here.

Rating (Out of 5) 5 

Amazon Rating of Marquee Moon: 4.4/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (94 /400)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2017 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Something tells me he enjoys this.
