1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

606. Pacific Ocean Blue – Dennis Wilson

Original Album is tracks 1-12

Brief Background: Pacific Ocean Blue is the sole solo album by Dennis Wilson who was a co-founder of The Beach Boys. The album was mainly recorded over the span of a couple years with “River Song” dating back to 1971. Pacific Ocean Blue was released in August of 1977 and while it was praised critically, it sold extremely poorly.

What I think: Pacific Ocean Blue is to me an uneven listen. I really love the “River Song”, “What’s Wrong”, and “Rainbows”… the songs that have the big Beach Boys like vocals. The remainder of the songs are really heavy and dark, and while they are well written pieces of music they weigh to much on me to be enjoyable. I have trouble separating the desperation in those songs from Wilson’s tragic story, if his life would have had a less destructive arc I may be better able to enjoy them. One interesting note is that Wilson’s vocals on the really slow songs like “Farewell My Friend” VERY much remind me of Jeff Tweedy’s vocals on the slower Wilco songs. It’s an interesting cross and I wonder if he ever took any influence from the album.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I think it should certainly be here, it is a great piece of art from a troubled soul.

Rating (Out of 5) 3.5 

Amazon Rating of Pacific Ocean Blue: 4.6/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (93 /396)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2017 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
