1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

609. 77 – Talking Heads

Brief Background: 77 is the debut album from Talking Heads. It was recorded in NYC during 1976 and 1977 being released in September of the title year.

What I think: It seems like I need to hear a Talking Heads song about ten times before I really enjoy it. So, I love all of the singles that were on the radio as I grew up plus about another fifteen songs that our wonderful Current plays and I’ve discovered on my own giving me a good base enjoyment. I’ve tried putting on their albums from time to time and end up less than pleased. So, recently realizing this ten times hearing a song thing, I’ve been concentrating on this album. Lo and behold, it’s working! The only song that hasn’t really clicked for me is “First Week/Last Week… Carefree”, other than that I absolutely adore it. I just love that there is so much feeling underneath that weird facade. I was recently thinking about the band and the lack of soul in their music. That thought made me listen closer and realize these aren’t robots just being strange… there is a lot of emotion cloaked just underneath.

My favorites here are “Uh-Oh, Love Comes to Town”, “No Compassion, “Don’t Worry About the Government”, “Psycho Killer” and finally the best song on the album “Pulled Up”.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I agree that it should be here… maybe I should listen to every album 20 times to see how much I enjoy them.

Rating (Out of 5) 4.5

Amazon Rating of 77: 4.3/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (90 /393)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 7, 2017 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.
