1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

611. Pink Flag – Wire

Brief Background: Pink Flag is the debut album by the English band Wire. It was recorded in the Fall of 1977 and released that December.

What I think: This has never been a significant album for me personally, but it’s always been an interesting listen nonetheless. I can hear the influence this album has had on so many different bands I love and what band it influences seems to vary from song to song. Something like “Lowdown” really reminds me of Fugazi or At the Drive-in. “Mannequin” is straight up ’80s college rock. “Three Girl Rhumba” was pretty much covered by Elastica and “Strange” was covered by R.E.M. So while this record isn’t a personal favorite, I still have the utmost respect for the influence on so much of the music I have loved in the forty years since this was released. It’s also one of those albums that grows on me every time I hear it. Given enough spins, I could see it becoming regular in my rotation.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? It’s a no doubter.

Rating (Out of 5) 4

Amazon Rating of Pink Flag: 4.7/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (89/391)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 3, 2017 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Something tells me he enjoys this.

Top Clicks

  • None
