1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

617. Heavy Weather – Weather Report

Brief Background: Heavy Weather is the eighth studio album by the band Weather Report. It was recorded at the end of 1976 and beginning of 1977. The album was released in March of 1977.

What I think: Jazz Fusion has always been a genre I only hear about when it’s being made fun of. That mentality makes be bristle a little and makes me 0hope I’ll love what I hear when I do listen. This album starts with a six minute track titled “Birdland” that made me think just that… It’s a great upbeat song with some really cool use of vocals and hand claps towards the end. I thought, this Fusion thing sounds a lot like a Jazzy version of Booker T and the MG’s.

So I thought, this is great, all those people were wrong… Until you get to the second number, “A Remark You Made”, which is the template for every song Kenny G ever made. It’s absolutely awful. The rest of the tracks aren’t quite as bad, in fact everyone has a little part that was enjoyable, the they still aren’t very good.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? Let’s forget we ever heard this one and just move on.

Rating (Out of 5) 1

Amazon Rating of Heavy Weather: 4.4/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (300/385)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 9, 2017 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
