1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

618. Out of the Blue – Electric Light Orchestra

Brief Background: Out of the Blue is the seventh studio album by ELO. Jeff Lynne wrote it in a remote cabin in the Swiss Alps. The double album was recorded during a two month period and released in October of 1977.

What I think: I first started listening to ELO as sort of a joke. Their overblown Symphonic Rock was just a fun listen and cheesy listen. After a while though, I really fell in love with the music which is wonderful ear candy and pop rock genius. I’ve listened to a couple of albums, don’t remember putting this on one specifically (so for the matter of my stats at the bottom I will call this a first time listen), despite the album’s opening song “Turn to Stone” being one of my favorite ELO songs. It’s a great way to open the record and that momentum continues through “It’s Over” and “Sweet Talkin’ Woman”. From there things get a little soft for awhile, the songs are just walls of syrup without a lot of substance. Things start to turn back again with “Jungle” and “Steppin Out” on the second half of side two, but things really turn around with the albums crowning achievement on side three.

This consists of Concerto for a Rainy Day which is a gripping four part masterpiece using the concept of weather and how it changes our moods. Lynne does a wonderful job of playing with our emotions throughout.  It ends with the stellar “Mr. Blue Sky”, which we all know and love… right? (If not stop what you are doing and check to be sure you have a pulse)

Side four is a bit of hit or miss again, leaving an uneven, but very nice album. There is too much good here to cut it down to a single, but filling the double seemed a bit difficult for them.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I agree that it should be here… a good editor could have maybe cut it to a single album, but it would have been a tough chore.

Rating (Out of 5) 4

Amazon Rating of Out of the Blue: 4.7/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (299/384)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2017 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
