1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

621. Trans-Europe Express – Kraftwerk

Brief Background: Trans-Europe Express is the sixth studio album from Kraftwerk, it was recorded in 1976 and released in 1977.

What I think: After unexpectedly enjoying Autobahn, I was eager to hear this album and see what a couple of years did to the evolution of electronic music. This album is more what I was expecting the group to sound like when I first put on Autobahn. That isn’t really a good thing though, it’s much more robotic and to me sinister sounding (the music is actually supposed to be very positive and a symbol of European unity). That being said, there are some great pop oriented songs in the almost ten minute “Europe Endless” and the suite on the second side really builds wonderfully into the second to last part “Franz Schubert”. So, while it isn’t as accessible to me, it is still a decent album.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? Reading about the album’s reputation on Wikipedia makes me think it should be here, but personally I would choose Autobahn and skip this one.

Rating (Out of 5) 2.5

Amazon Rating of Trans-Europe Express: 4.3/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (297/381)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 27, 2017 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
