1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

622. Before and After Science – Brian Eno

Brief Background: Before and After Science is the fifth solo album from Brian Eno. It was recorded over a two year period, with Eno writing over 100 songs for it, and released in December of 1977.

What I think: I finally get to say that I like a Brian Eno album, and I like it a lot! It’s certainly an album that is different based on the which side you are listening to. Side A really sounds like the Talking Heads heard it and said, “Let’s take this sound, but turn down the weirdness a little bit”. This is like a weirdness of 9.5/10, where the Talking Heads are at like an 8/10. And I promise I came up with that analogy before reading the Wikipedia page and finding that track “King Lead Hat” is an anagram of Talking Heads. “Backwater” and “Energy Fools the Magician” are my favorites.

Side two is a lot more spacious, the Wikipedia page quotes others as calling it “Pastoral”, which I think fits. I don’t like these songs as much, but I think they work really well with the energetic and jerky first side, especially the tracks “Here He Comes” and “Julie With…”, the former a really beautiful and dark song. I really hear the influence in a lot of the more electronic influenced indie rock music that has come out in the last ten years.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I really love being surprised by an album and that is the case here. This is what the project is about!

Rating (Out of 5) 4

Amazon Rating of Before and After Science: 4.6/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (296/380)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2017 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
