1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

626. Legalize It – Peter Tosh

Brief Background: Legalize It is the debut solo album by former Wailers member Peter Tosh. The album was recorded in Jamaica during 1975 and released in 1976.

What I think: Aside from the title track, this is a really great album. The music brings a lot of variety  in a way similar to the Burning Spear album.  I can feel the Soul and Blues in Tosh’s music which makes it multidimensional Reggae. That is especially true with the songs “What’cha Gonna Do”, “No Sympathy” “Why Must I Cry” and “Till Your Water Runs Try”. The latter of which I felt like was a take on William Bell’s “You Don’t Miss Your Water”, but there are no writing credits given to him.

I do want to talk about the title track a little. I get that it had political significance in Jamaica at the time, and has been adopted by those in favor of well… legalizing Marijuana. That’s fine and great, it’s certainly something I agree with, but in the end the song is just weak. It’s filled with bad rhyming and is loaded with cliche (and maybe it is cliche now and wasn’t forty years ago, I get that). So while it’s a worthy cause, it’s just not a good song.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I really do agree that this should be here. We haven’t had a lot of Reggae and especially Reggae I have enjoyed so this, for the most part, is really nice.

Rating (Out of 5) 4

Amazon Rating of Legalize It: 4.5/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (292/376)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

2 comments on “626. Legalize It – Peter Tosh

  1. William
    January 13, 2017

    Hello again! I wanna ask today is Super Ape by The Upsetters & Lee “Scratch” Perry in that book? That would be my fave Reggae and/or Jamaica album of all-time, it was released the same year too. Do you know that one? It’s been a very long time since I’ve listen to Tosh but maybe I should.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 12, 2017 by and tagged , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
