1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

627. Zombie – Fela Kuti

Original album is tracks 1 and 2.

Brief Background: Zombie is a studio album by Fela Kuti that was released in 1976. The album was critical of the Nigerian government and set off the burning of Kuti’s commune during which his mother was pushed from a window and killed.

What I think: It’s a little bit weird doing a write-up on an album after discovering the personal and political implications it had for Kuti and his followers. I couldn’t make out the lyrics of the title track first song, but you can just tell with the way they are said (not to mention, the repeated use of zombie) that is was a hard edged political song. And like The Clash would do a little bit down the road, some of the most biting songs have some of the most catchy and pop sounding music. There is a really strong Afrobeat element throughout both of the songs, but there is also a really strong Jazz feeling as well, which makes both songs interesting even with their length.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? It’s not really my thing, but it seems important and I think it should be here.

Rating (Out of 5) 3

Amazon Rating of Zombie: 4.8/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (291/375)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

2 comments on “627. Zombie – Fela Kuti

  1. William
    January 10, 2017

    Oh my god I love his stuff but I guess it’s not for everyone! The title track was my top zombie song of all-time, I did make a playlist of tracks, it’s here if you wanna check it out?
    https://a1000mistakes.wordpress.com/2016/12/15/playlist-my-fave-five-zombie-songs-then-some/
    I was going to get a copy of that book, is it worth it or what?

    • davidvriezedaniels
      January 10, 2017

      Don’t get me wrong, I like it but it doesn’t grab ahold of me. I’ll check out your list.
      The book is good, but not great. I like it as a list more than the write-ups. I think Rolling Stone did better as far as what they had to say.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2017 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
