1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

631. Mothership Connection – Parliament

Brief Background: Mothership Connection is the fourth album from Parliament. It was recorded during the second half of 1975 and was released in December of the same year.

What I think: If I had put this album on a couple years ago (before starting this project), I would not have been able to appreciate it. I would have seen it as gaudy and silly, in the end dismissing it. But I’ve been able to follow the progression from Soul to the development of Funk here and that really has allowed me to appreciate that it is gaudy and silly and as being entertaining. And that’s what this is… once they get past the eight minute intro song. It’s an album about getting funky on a spaceship and it works nicely. I think my favorite part about the piece is that the groove is so prevalent, but there are so many layers and instruments in the songs. I could picture a whole orchestra doing it live.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? It’s fun, it’s empowering and seriously influential. Let’s keep it.

Rating (Out of 5) 3.0

Amazon Rating of Mothership Connection: 4.7/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (287/371)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

2 comments on “631. Mothership Connection – Parliament

  1. annemossity
    December 27, 2016

    I like your analysis. I’ve spent many an hour listening to this and other Parliament records. It is a groove thing – not as much a song thing.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 26, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!
