1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

636. Destroyer – Kiss

Brief Background: Destroyer was recorded in late 1975 and early 1976. The album was released in March of 1976. The album failed to match the success of their previous (live) album Alive until DJs started playing the b-side of “Detroit Rock City”. That song is “Beth” and it launched the album to platinum status.

What I think: I can’t stand Kiss, to me they are the worst of any rock band. They are like Deep Purple without the talent, and I can’t stand Deep Purple. It’s a load of trash marketed to adolescent boys.  I know I’m not breaking any ground here, but “Beth” may be the worst song ever recorded. On its own it is just a cheesy piece of music, but add that Orchestra in the background and it takes the cake. The one song I can stand a little bit is “Shout it Out Loud” and even that sounds flat on this recording. I listened to the Alive II version and that isn’t what I would have heard on the radio, so maybe I’m just being extra critical.

The one piece of entertainment on this album was the final song, “Do You Love Me”. While listening to it, the song sounded vaguely familiar, but I had no idea when I would have heard it. After a Google search, it turns out a cover was on a Nirvana bootleg titled Outcesticide that a friend of mine had. I hadn’t heard the Nirvana version in over twenty years, but it was cool listening to it again. I don’t think I ever realized it was a Kiss cover, I just thought they were fooling around. The sarcastic Nirvana version is much better.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? Ick. Just a bunch of crap. Let us move on. 

Rating (Out of 5) .5

Amazon Rating of Destroyer: 4.3/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (284/366)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

2 comments on “636. Destroyer – Kiss

  1. fyfeopedia
    December 17, 2016

    I think the bit where you say “It’s not quite a Pop masterpiece, but it’s a seriously competent collection of Pop music.” is left over from your ABBA review?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 17, 2016 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
