1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

639. Boston – Boston

Brief Background: Boston was recorded in the basement of an apartment building that song writer Tom Scholz lived in. Scholz had recorded demos of these songs over and over in the same studio for as many as five years perfecting the songs as he went. Over time,he would send the demos out to records companies, but was always rejected. When he did finally get interest from Epic records he quickly had to put a band together to showcase the songs. After signing with Epic, they wanted the band to go into a real studio to record. Scholz instead mislead them and started the recording process in the basement studio. The music on all but one song on the album would be recorded there, the vocals would be overdubbed in a real studio. Released in August of 1976, the album would go on to sell over twenty million copies world wide!

What I think: This album has the perfect backstory. I love the idea of a mad genius working in the basement for years to perfect the ultimate rock/pop songs and when it comes out, it just blows the world away. I listened to this album a couple of years ago for the first time and was flabbergasted that I already knew all but one of the eight songs. The fact that this album gets that much play on classic rock radio, a format I don’t seek out but am exposed to, is just insane.

Now when we talk about the actual music it’s a different story, much of the music is pretty bad arena rock that would be reworked over and over for the next fifteen years by a multitude of bands in leather pants and bad hair cuts. I can get behind “Long Time” and “Hitch a Ride”, but there is only one real gem here and that may seem obvious it is “More Than a Feeling”. I have some sort of hybrid of sincere/ironic love of that song that really can’t be matched by anything else. It’s pretty much the perfection of epic cheesy pop songs. I mean at one point Brad Delp holds a note so long that it turns into a guitar and that is just amazing! It is also my favorite song to play on Rockband, I love how it goes back and forth from hammer on’s to repeated chord parts. It just makes it really fun to play.

 

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? This should certainly be here, it is probably my favorite album backstory and everybody should at least hear what came from it.

Rating (Out of 5) 2

Amazon Rating of Boston: 4.5/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (81/363)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 4, 2016 by and tagged , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
