1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

642. Station to Station – David Bowie

Brief Background: Station to Station was recorded in L.A. between September and November of 1975 and released in January of 1976. The album marks Bowie’s “Thin White Duke Persona” and was written and recorded during a period of cocaine use so extreme that Bowie claimed he didn’t remember recording it.

What I think: I’ve never been a huge Bowie guy, sticking mostly to his biggest singles (“Golden Years” on this album for example), so it is saying a lot about his talent that this is the sixth album of his I’ve done for this project in almost exactly a year and I’m still excited to listen to them. This album holds up as well. I may not go out and listen to it again, but it’s a damn fine recording. It kind of has everything, including an amazing (as a third party viewer at least) back story, a huge level of energy and passion (perceived at least – the intention was for The Duke to be a detached character). It is really a perfect blending of the grenes of Rock, Soul, Funk and Electronic into a seamless style.

I really like all of the tracks here with the exception of the album closer “Wild is the Wind”, which really feels out of place in energy and sound from the rest of the tracks. Favorites are probably the title track and “TVC 15”.

So with this one under my belt, I’m excited to next hear the Berlin Trilogy and the brilliance those albums are promised to contain.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I do think it should be here and I’m a bit saddened Bowie’s output will slow a bit from here, although that was probably the best for him and his health.

Rating (Out of 5) 4

Amazon rating of Station to Station: 4.5/5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (280/360)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 27, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
