1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

649. A Night at the Opera – Queen

Brief Background: A Night at the Opera was recorded from August through November of 1975. It was released that same month. Upon completion, it was the most expensive album ever recorded.

What I think: I want to start of talking about the masterpiece of the album “Bohemian Rhapsody” and how it became a part of my life. In 1991 I was twelve years old and don’t really remember anything in my life involving Queen up to that point, they were pretty much irrelevant to me. Then Freddie died and it seemed Queen were everywhere! I was a typical teen at the time and watched a lot of Mtv (and VH1 as well), it seems like with the tribute concert it was wall to wall Queen for a while with that concert airing on repeat. If that weren’t enough, the Wayne’s World movie came out shortly after and that beginning scene, especially when they start head banging, is a collective event for everyone of my age. And so this song was a huge part of my development and though I’ve never listened to much more than the singles, I feel the band is ingrained into my psyche even more than a group like The Beatles. It’s something about the age I was at and these things soaking into me like a sponge. I really can’t add anything to what’s been said about the song except that my favorite part is that guitar solo that comes in at about two and a half minutes. I can’t think of many more solos I enjoy more.

The album as a whole though, I don’t enjoy as much and I’m really on the fence about whether it belongs here or not. There are some really great songs “39” is really great and really gets you in the feels. “You’re My Best Friend” is nice and I don’t change it when I hear it on the radio, but I wouldn’t say it’s amazing.  The vocal part on “The Prophet’s Song” is literally startling, it made me feel like I was spinning in circles, but at other points the song seems like a bad Led Zeppelin song. So, I go back and forth through the whole thing and can’t decide how much I like it.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to?  I would tend to lean towards “Bohemian Rhapsody” being featured in the 1001 Songs You Must Listen To book and leave the rest of the album off.

Rating (Out of 5) 2.5

A Night at the Opera Amazon Rating(Out of 5):5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (275/353)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 28, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
