1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

650. Wish You Were Here – Pink Floyd

Brief Background: Wish You Were Here is the follow-up to Dark Side of the Moon, which was released in 1973.  It was recorded during the first half of 1975 in between U.S. tours and was released in September 1975.

What I think: This here is really the only Pink Floyd album (although, I haven’t heard them all!) I have any interest in listening to from beginning to end, where Dark Side of the Moon feels like a waste in the first half, and The Wall is too dark and bloated, this album is the closest they come to a front to back perfect album.

That being said, I am always a bit disappointed with “Shine on You Crazy Diamond”. I would have like to hear them condense it some and maybe add one more standard song to the album. I do really like the vocal parts of the song and most of the instrumental stuff is cool, but I would have left off some of the more “ethereal” stuff.  Sort of a less filler/more killer type of thing. I wouldn’t cut to down to the length of the radio signal, but just some trim work.

I do think the three standard songs on the album are all great and are some of my favorite Pink Floyd songs, with “Wish You Were Here” easily taking the prize on that end. It’s the most perfect song of sadness and absence that has ever been written and I just want to listen to it on repeat.  I’m usually not a huge fan of “prog keyboard”, but I would say that on this album I really love the use of keyboard. Some of it is really lazery and could be very cheesy, but Wright does a great job of not laying on the same note, but incorporating it very well into the structure of the song.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to?  I do think this should be here, it is probably their best (though I don’t remember hearing Animals or Final Cut so I should probably check them out).

Rating (Out of 5) 4

Wish You Were Here Amazon Rating(Out of 5):5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (78/352)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

One comment on “650. Wish You Were Here – Pink Floyd

  1. Adam Maiorano
    February 9, 2017

    Don’t bother with The Final Cut. It’s horrible. Doesn’t compare with this majestic LP.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 26, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.
