1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

656. Born to Be with You – Dion

Original album is tracks 1-8

Brief Background: Born to Be with You is Dion’s fourteenth studio album released by Dion without The Belmonts. The album was mostly produced by Phil Spector, who’s erratic behavior drew out the recording sessions. Upon completion the album was shelved for over and year and failed to garner much attention when it was released in 1975.

What I think: Like most people, “Run Around Sue” and “The Wanderer” are two of my favorite songs of all time. Because of them, I’ve tried listening to other Dion, (probably other songs on greatest hits albums) and never found much else out there that struck me. With that, I was hopeful, but not optimistic that I would enjoy this record. Add to that the fact that Spector produced it (I like some stuff, but other really grates on me (too much going on makes my head spin) ) and there wasn’t much of a chance of enjoying this one.  Against all of those odds though this is a gem of an album with some really powerful singing by Dion and yes some great full arraignments by Spector. It’s sort of 70’s singer/songwriter stuff with wall of sound backing and it just sounds amazing.

I would normally list what I like on a album, but they are all essential except for his version of “(He’s Got) The Whole World in His Hands” which really sounds vocally off and propped up by over done production.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I certainly agree this should be here. This is what this project is here for. I found a diamond in the dirt.

Rating (Out of 5) 5

Born to Be With You Amazon Rating(Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (271/346)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
