1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

657. Pieces of the Sky – Emmylou Harris

Brief Background: Pieces of the Sky is Harris’ third album. It was released in February of 1975.

What I think: I really love Emmylou’s voice, and but  I’ve never heard one of he full albums. This album leave me enjoying her voice, but doesn’t have me rushing to listen to more. The stand-out songs her are her own “Boulder to Birmingham” and Shel Silverstein’s “Queen of the Silver Dollar”. She covers some well known songs here as well such as “The Bottle Let Me Down”, “Coat of Many Colors” and the Beatles’ “For No One”. Unfortunately, this is were the album is lacking a bit as they are pretty iconic songs that have very distinct original versions. I just don’t think she can top them, and really nobody could. The real offender of the three is the latter which is buried in schmaltzy strings.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? It has its flaws, but is quite enjoyable. I’ll give it a pass.

Rating (Out of 5) 3.5

Pieces of the Sky Amazon Rating(Out of 5):5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (270/345)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2016 by and tagged , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!
