1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

661. The Köln Concert – Keith Jarrett

Brief Background: The Köln concert an improvised recording of Keith Jarrett on piano at the Cologne Opera house. An incorrect baby grand piano that only sounded correct in the middle registers was accidentally placed on stage leading Jarrett to use mostly the middle of the keyboard. The concert was recorded in January of 1975 and the double album was released the same year.

What I think: First, the album has a really interesting back story, which always makes for wonderful legend. Second, there are little parts of interesting music in each of the four parts. Third, I found a great recording to put me to sleep… unfortunately, that was almost while driving.

The thing is, I couldn’t listen to anybody play any instrument for over an hour and stay interested in it. Like I said there are interesting parts in each piece, but twenty minute parts? Yikes.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? Though technically proficient, and insanely creative it’s not my thing and I’d have to say to cut it.

Rating (Out of 5) 1.5

The Köln Concert Amazon Rating(Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (67/341)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 16, 2016 by and tagged , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
