1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

662. Toys in the Attic – Aerosmith

Brief Background: Toys in the Attic is the third album by Aerosmith. It was recorded in early 1975 and released in April of that year. The album features the band’s first two top forty hits in “Walk This Way” and “Sweet Emotion” and has sold over eight million copies.

What I think: I was fourteen years old when the Aerosmith album Get a Grip came out. The songs were all over the radio and the videos were all over Mtv and I went through a fairly substantial Aerosmith phase. They still intrigue me enough that I read Steven Tyler’s bio about a year ago, but I really feel they’ve tarnished their reputation the last twenty years with bad albums, bad publicity and infighting. I like to think that these days I am immune to their rock music, but that’s not really true… at least not completely.

Some of the stuff on Toys in the Attic does come off as really stupid, their cover of “Big Ten Inch Record”, the Zeppelin rip-off of “Round and Round”, the mega-cheese of “You See Me Crying” certainly fall under that umbrella. When they hit though they are golden. We all know “Walk This Way”, and we’ve all heard it a million time, but I still think it’s an amazing riff and a great song to hear. The same with “Sweet Emotion”, great riff, great layering and what strikes me these days is just how amazing the drumming is. The song that really took me by surprise here though is “No More No More”, what a great buried tune that finds Aerosmith trying out their Power Ballad/Power-Pop boogie.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? Reputation-wise I don’t have a problem with it being here. It’s a classic. In truth though I think there is a bit of filler here that really damages the quality.

Rating (Out of 5) 3

Toys in the Attic Amazon Rating(Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (74/340)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2016 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
