1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

666. Another Green World – Brian Eno

Brief Background: Another Green world was recorded in London during July and August of 1975 and released in September of the same year.

What I think: I really felt like I’d been oversaturated with Brian Eno even before this album, so I knew listening to another one wasn’t going to be pretty. From the moment this started, I just couldn’t wait for it to be done and was mostly glad when it was. What we have here are fourteen songs that range from keyboard noise to more traditionally structured songs. Most of these made me feel as though I was listening to an unfinished album or scraps from the cutting room floor.

It is with that attitude that I must admit that the whole album wasn’t awful. “St. Elmo’s Fire” and “I’ll Come Running” are two of the most traditional songs on the album and have a very nice pop/synth element to them. “The Big Ship” is the real gem here though. It’s an instrumental piece that is filled equal parts beauty and drama. It would make great music for the final scene of a really intense movie.  The rest though is pretty much unlistenable.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I feel the writers of this book just have a huge crush on Eno and that the could look a little more critically at the choices and say, “What are we missing by including all of these albums?”.

Rating (Out of 5) 1.5

Another Green World Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (263/336)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 1, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
