1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

671. Pretzel Logic – Steely Dan

 

Brief Background: Pretzel Logic is the is the third studio album from Steely Dan. The record was recorded in L.A. during the end of 1973 and the beginning of 1974. It was released in February of ’74.

What I think: I’ve sort of enjoyed the previous Steely Dan albums, but this is the third one in a short time. That is a lot of Dan to take in, so I’ve become a bit weary. I really do appreciate the fact that they don’t feel the need to pad their albums with filler as this one comes in at just over 34 minutes. Whether weariness has to do with how I feel about the album I’m not sure, but things do start slowly here with “Rikki Don’t Lose That Number” (their biggest ever single, but I’ve never cared for it), “Night by Night” and “Any Major Dude Will Tell You”. After that though things get pretty good for a few songs with “Barrytown” “East St. Louis Toodle-Oo” and “Parker’s Band”. Unfortunately, that height cannot be maintained and it’s down hill from there. I also like the album cover photo, very cool.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? Like I said it’s a lot of Dan… and to this point I’ll accept it, but please god don’t make me listen to everyone of their albums.

Rating (Out of 5): 2.5

Pretzel Logic Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (259/331)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 19, 2016 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
