1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

675. Sheet Music – 10cc

Brief Background: Sheet Music is the second album from British Rock band 10cc. It was recorded in 1974 and released in May of the same year.

What I think: This album has achieved something that very few albums I’ve listened to for this project have been able to: It gave me a headache. Right in the middle of my forehead. Probably from scrunching my brow.

The reason: There is really nothing redeeming about this album. The lyrics sound like they were (badly) improvised, the music sounds like an uncharming Steely Dan, and it just does not work. I don’t understand how that band that would later write the beautifully cheesy “The Things We do For Love”, could miss so badly at music that seems in their ballpark. I guess they got lucky.

While listening to the album I thought I would have to say there is nothing I liked about it. That is not true though, there is actually a great sounding moment at the end of “The Sacro-lilac” and about half of “Oh Effendi” is pretty cool. That’s it though about a minute and a half on the whole album.

The album title and album cover are even a pun and that doesn’t even make it charming!

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? Remember the part about the headache… yea let’s zap this one.

Rating (Out of 5): .5

Sheet Music Amazon Review(Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (255/327)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 4, 2016 by and tagged , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
