1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

676. I Want to See the Bright Lights Tonight – Richard and Linda Thompson

Original album is tracks 1-10

Brief Background: I Want to See the Bright Lights is the second solo album from Richard Thompson (formerly of Fairport Convention) and the first with his then wife Linda Thompson. The album was recorded in London during May of 1973 and released in April of 1974.

What I think: This is a really interesting sounding album. It’s folk rock, but instead of sounding like it is from the 1970’s, it almost sounds like it came from 1990’s Alternative Folk. Like when a 90’s alt rocker went a bit folkish. Like, Paul Westerberg with Suicaine Gratification only this is even more scaled back. It’s something about the sound of the drums and guitar. After that though, you need to throw on what I would have thought as traditional Celtic instruments and even  Celtic vocals with Linda. These two were Londoners through and through though so maybe I’m just ignorant on that front.

The results of this mix of music is pretty satisfying, especially on the first side. From there things get a bit too rootsy for me. Highlights are “When I Get to the Border”, “The Calvary Cross” (Check out the live version at the end of the album, it is on fire!) and the title track, which really reminds me of what Abba might have sounded like as a Folk Rock group.

P.S. The album cover is pretty cool too. I love the title written in the condensation.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? It’s a nice album and I’m glad I had a chance to listen to it.

Rating (Out of 5): 4

I Want to See the Bright Light Tonight Amazon Review(Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (254/326)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!
