1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

677. Sheer Heart Attack – Queen

Brief Background: Sheer Heart Attack is the third album by Queen.  It was recorded during the summer of 1974 and released in November of the same year.

What I think: I have a hard time sort of classifying or making a blanket statement about Sheer Heart Attack. It’s sort of all over the place with a metal sound at times, hard rock at others and pop balladry still other times. So the sound of Queen, but with this album it feels a bit jarring and with that jarring feeling comes a real song to song enjoyment or lack of as you move through the album.

“Brighton Rock” is a bit too much on the metal end for me,  “Killer Queen” is my favorite song from the group. It has a perfect balance of heaviness, pop hooks and schmaltz. I just love it. Going into “Tenement Funster” you have Roger Taylor on vocals and that can be skipped. And the album sort of rotates like that. Favorites of mine though are the aforementioned “Killer Queen”, “Now I’m Here” and the finale “In the Lap of the Gods… Revisited” .

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I think it should be here, it’s certainly ambitious. Base off of its reputation, I was hoping for more. All in all though it is a pretty good album.

Rating (Out of 5): 3

Sheer Heart Attack Amazon Review(Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (253/325)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 27, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
