1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

679. Kimono My House – Sparks

Brief Background: Kimono My House is the third album by the American band Sparks. This album was recorded in the UK during the end of 1973 after the band moved there to capitalize on the Glam Rock scene. The album was released in May of 1974.

What I think: I knew nothing of this group before listening to this album, hadn’t even heard of them. In case you are in the same boat what we have here is a sort of Power Pop Rock group. I actually thought the singer was female, but it turns out he is male. His voice reminds me a bit of the manlier vocals of Debbie Harry. The lyrics are weird, humorous and quirky reminding me of a much more rock oriented Devo. It is also supposed to have been a huge influence on both Morrissey and Kurt Cobain. It’s interesting how something so quirky and weird could inspire such dour individuals (kidding aside, Cobain seemed to have a great sense of humor. Morrissey though?).

What did I think of it? Well it was a sort of every other song type of thing. Some of the songs were too Poppy and felt saccharine. Those which had a bit of a darker feel or chugging guitar (a bit of a 1990’s Pop Punk feel) are great though. I would notice myself tapping or nodding along out of nowhere after not enjoying the previous song.

While I write the blog, I actually listen to the album a second time in order to refresh my memory and I’m even liking the Pop stuff much more. I don’t know if I’ll listen to it again, but it really tickles the brains pleasure centers nicely.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I’ll let it pass, it certainly seems to be growing on me…

Rating (Out of 5): 3.5

Kimono My House Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (251/323)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
