1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

695. Raw Power – The Stooges

The original album is tracks 1-8

Brief Background: Raw Power was recorded in London during September and October of 1972 by a revamped version of The Stooges and released in February of 1973.

What I think: So there are two versions of this album that have been released. One is mixed by David Bowie and the other by Iggy Pop. Not knowing which was the original first release, I picked the Pop version. I figured that I should have switched to the other after hearing the version of “Search and Destroy”, which sounded raw, lo-fi and really amazing, but wasn’t the song I knew. Anyway, that pretty much explains the Iggy Pop remix, which was released in the 1990’s.

Bowie’s version was the original 1973 mix that was released and sounds really good, but takes some of that punk fever out of it. The album is really pushing towards that punk sound, with harmonica, piano and other instruments much more limited than the previous albums. I think the most impressive part of the album is that it really feels like a debauched car full of people going down the road out of control. As if everyone was in a hurry to get something on tape before everything crash and burned.

I also don’t talk about album art much, mostly sticking to the music, but this cover has always scared the crap out of me. There is so much danger and hedonism in that pose. Since I was young, it always said, “This is too much for you, you couldn’t handle it. Stay Away!”

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I do agree that this should be here. Like their other albums, this is setting a stage for what is to come. I hear so much Bob Stinson in the guitar and a lot of Sorry Ma… era Paul in the vocals.

Rating (Out of 5): 4

Raw Power Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (237/307)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Something tells me he enjoys this.

Top Clicks

  • None
