1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

702. Dark Side of the Moon – Pink Floyd

This is my 300th post, so here are some stats for you:

My ratings for this 100.

5: 13

4.5: 14

4: 13

3.5: 17

3: 15

2.5: 4

2: 10

1.5: 2

1: 5

.5: 3

0: 4

Total over all 300.

5: 45

4.5: 39

4: 55

3.5: 43

3: 44

2.5: 16

2: 21

1.5: 13

1: 11

.5: 5

0: 8

Most Albums on the list:

7 for The Beatles

6 for the Rolling Stones

5 for The Byrds

4 for Dylan, Led Zeppelin, The Kinks and Miles Davis

Albums by year (If I’ve tagged correctly):

1973: 19 (so far)

1972: 29

1971: 35

1970: 30

1969: 36 (I was surprised there were only five more than 1968, it certainly felt like 15+)

1968: 31

1967: 28

Genres:

Folk at 37

Rock at 34

Soul at 29

Country at 18

Prog-Rock at 18

…And now for our feature presentation, and a very fitting 300th album if I must say so myself:

Brief Background: Dark Side of the Moon  is Pink Floyd’s eighth studio album. The album was played lived during Floyd’s tours for the album Meddle and was then recorded at Abbey Road Studios during several sessions from June 1972 to January 1973. The Dark side of the Moon was released in March of 1973. The album explores many emotions or states that humans go through in their everyday living, including conflict, greed, time and mental illness.

What I think: So here we have one of the best selling albums of all time and I find myself asking, “What is the big fuss about?”. I mean it is of course good, but the first 10 minutes are really just nonsense and noise, it’s not really until two and half minutes into the fourth song “Time” that anything approaching a real song happens. From there things do step up though. There are a lot of concise ideas, amazing musical work and dreamy lyrics that fill out the record. The guitar solos are there, but are limited. There is some wonderful saxophone and awesomely soulful backing vocals in there too.

But in the end, I don’t know if it deserves the reputation it has. The album isn’t an amazing and un-flawed masterpiece. When going into listening to it for this blog, I was excited because it had been so long since I’d heard it. I wanted to be blown away by what I was missing for all these years. In the end, there wasn’t much that I couldn’t live without.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? Of course it should be on this list. Does it deserve to be the third bestselling album ever? I think not.

Rating (Out of 5): 3.5

Dark Side of the Moon Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (70/300)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
