1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

712. Selling England by the Pound – Genesis

Brief Background: Selling England by the Pound was recorded in August of 1973 and released in October of the same month. This is Genesis’ fifth studio album.

What I think: At the suggestion of a friend (Hi Brian) I listened to this album a couple of years back, but it didn’t stick for me then. Upon listening again I rather enjoy it, especially the catchy as hell vocals in songs like “Dancing with the Moonlit Knight”, “I Know What I like”and “More Fool Me”. The overly dramatic songs like “Firth of Fifth” and “The Battle of Epping Forest” still tend to turn me off, but those great vocal parts keep me listening (and even these songs have their moments… like the ending of “Fifth”). I wonder what happened to those two singers? They could have had great solo careers without this prog stuff behind them.  😉

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I agree that it should be here. It’s fun to come back to something and have a vastly different feeling for it than I did when I listened to it a couple years ago. Maybe when I’ve finished listening to all of these albums, I’ll start again to see what has changed.

Rating (Out of 5): 3.5

Selling England by the Pound Amazon Review (Out of 5): 5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (65/290)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!
