1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

716. Space Ritual – Hawkwind

Original album is Disc 1 and Disc 2  Tracks 1-5

Brief Background: Space Ritual is a double live album by the band Hawkwind. The album was recorded over two concerts in December of 1972 and released in 1973. The album tells the story of space travelers returning to Earth.

What I think: Well a… if this isn’t the weirdest album so far. You basically have ninety minutes of spacey jams interspersed with spoken word pieces that will give you the creeps. I just picture really low budget 1970’s sci fi movies and oddly enough Monty Python sketches, especially during those spoken word pieces. “Sonic Attack” has this part were somebody says “Think only of yourself” over and over. After each iteration of it, a high pitched voice echoing with “of yourself” in a perfect Eric Idle spoof. So it can be funny, yet I think that is unintentional.  The ironic thing is the core guitar, bass and drums of the band is really solid. Dave Brock has a great punk/metal power chord sound that I love and Simon King is an amazing drummer with some great rat-a-tat tommy gun stuff on the snare. And holy crap, I literally just saw that Lemmy was the bass player on this album. Well that explains the awesome bass stuff and some of that punkish sound.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? Yeesh, not my thing, really I can’t believe it is anyones thing!

Rating (Out of 5):1

Space Ritual Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (219/286)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 29, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!
