1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

721. Pronounced ‘Lĕh-‘nérd ‘Skin-‘nérd – Lynard Skynyrd

Original album is tracks 1-8

Brief Background: Pronounced ‘Lĕh-‘nérd ‘Skin-‘nérd was recorded at Studio One in Doraville, GA during the spring of 1973. The album was released in August of 1973.

What I think: My tendency is to just dismiss this as stupid Southern Rock, and mostly it is just that. I do have to give it some props though. The bass playing and bass sound throughout the album is amazing, I just love that fat vibe going on that. I’m not usually one really even notice bass, so that is a big statement coming from me. Second, that Honky Tonk piano on “Things Goin’ On” tickles the spine. Third, really a this point these guys could write a really nice hook, listen to “Gimme Three Steps” and then try to forget it within an hour. Finally, any album that has four huge singles on an eight track album needs to be honored. Oh… and the second half of “Free Bird” kicks some ass.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I’ll let this one pass, although I hope we don’t have to chronicle each of their albums.

Rating (Out of 5):2.5

Pronounced Lynyrd Skynyrd Amazon Review (Out of 5): 5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (215/281)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

One comment on “721. Pronounced ‘Lĕh-‘nérd ‘Skin-‘nérd – Lynard Skynyrd

  1. ashleypaskill
    July 13, 2016

    Great review of an awesome album. (I didn’t even have to listen to “Gimme Three Steps” to get it stuck in my head!)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2016 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
