1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

732. Eagles – Eagles

Brief Background: Eagles was, oddly enough, recorded at Olympic Studios in London in February of 1972. It was released in June of the same year.

What I think: Well, here we have the debut album from one of the most polarizing rock bands to ever exist. They’ve sold hundreds of millions of albums, yet I know of nobody who owns one of them. They’ve been ruthlessly panned by critics for their lack of soul and authenticity. They’ve been lampooned in movies, creating one of the most quotable lines ever. And it’s time for me to say, I do like the Eagles and I like them quite a bit. That is at least as a singles band. I’ve tried to get into a couple of their albums and always come away unimpressed.

That sentiment isn’t any different with this album. In fact, the non-single songs actually sound sonically thin. “Nightingale” for example, is a decent song, but it sounds super flat. As if time wasn’t spent in mixing it correctly, because it wasn’t meant to be a single. I would say the same thing about “Chug All Night” and “Most of Us are Sad”. The two non-single song that sound really great are “Train Leaves Here This Morning”, with Gene Clark as co-writer showing its obvious Byrds influence and “Earlybird”, with its weird whistling sound effects.

As alluded to though the top tracks here are the singles “Take It Easy”, which is one of the catchiest songs in the world, and “Peaceful Easy Feeling”(and is it just me or is the guitar recorded “too hot” causing a fuzz on the guitar during parts of the second half of the song?), which induces just that in me.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? This is a really uneven album, but I think it’s an important one and should be here.

Rating (Out of 5): 3

Eagles Amazon Review (Out of 5): 5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (206/270)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
