1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

745. Slayed? – Slade

Screen Shot 2015-12-27 at 10.06.38 AM

Brief Background: Slayed? was recorded and released in 1972, with the album being put out in November of that year. The album reached #1 on the charts in the UK, and #75 in the U.S.

What I think: Slade is such an interesting band, because they heavily influenced almost everybody who came after them including the whole hair metal scene, punk music, “Alternative” of the ’80s and ’90s. But in the U.S. the are almost unknown to most people and that really includes me. I knew of their heavy influence and that they wrote “Cum on Feel the Noize”, but had never listened to them. So coming into this album I was rather excited to finally have that chance. In the end, I wasn’t impressed as I had hoped. The songs “How D’You Ride”, “Gudbuy T’ Jane” and “Mama Weer All Crazee Now” are really good. They have a catchyness that is lacking on some of the other tracks. With the rest though there is too much bombast and over the top vocals (screetching) to hold my attention. I guess I prefer the coolness of T. Rex to this style of glam.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? It seems that their live album that preceded this one had a lot more influence on the music of the next two decades and I would have probably picked that over this one. All in all though this wasn’t too bad. I’d say it’s forty percent there.

Rating (Out of 5): 3

Slayed? Amazon Review (Out of 5): 5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (195/257)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 76%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 27, 2015 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
