1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

757. Teenage Head – Flamin’ Groovies

 Original Album is Tracks 1-9

Brief Background: Teenage Head was released in April of 1971. It was recorded in NYC.

What I think: I am familiar with the Flamin’ Groovies, because of their song “Shake Some Action” and was excited for this album, because other than that I knew nothing about them. This album has a more blues rock/ boogie rock/ country rock element than the power pop of “Shake Some Action”, and it’s not what I was expecting, but it is a great sound. It’s like a stripped down and looser version of what The Rolling Stones where doing at this time (this idea was my own, but the Wikipedia page mentions Jagger saying the Groovies did it better).

There are moments here in “Have You Seen My Baby” and “Yesterday’s Numbers” where I’m sure this is the best thing I’ve ever heard. The loose pop/blues/rock fusion just tickles my brain in a way that hasn’t happened in a long time and I simply love it. The album as a whole doesn’t stay up to that level, but the rest of the songs are still pretty damn good.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I’m certainly glad this was here. I’ve been on a garage rock kick as of late and would have sat down and listened to these guys more closely and some point, but I’m glad it was now. How does an album and band like this just sneak by?

Rating (Out of 5): 5

Teenage Head Amazon Review (Out of 5): 5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (186/245)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 76%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
