1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

769. Tarkus – Emerson, Lake and Palmer

 

Brief Background: Tarkus is ELP’s second album. The record was recorded in January of 1971 and released in June of the same year.

Original album was tracks 1-7

What I think: 

While this certainly wasn’t the worst album I’ve had to listen to for this project (I still can’t get over the awful music + the awful screeching of Deep Purple), it certainly also wasn’t far from it. The first side of the record it the title track which runs at 20 minutes and shows that these guys can play their instruments. It also shows that twenty minutes of showing off is amazingly boring. There’s also a half baked concept in there somewhere about a mechanical armadillo, but don’t read the Wikipedia page on it or your head might pop for it’s straight up stupidity. The second half of the album consists of more traditional length songs, but the showing off doesn’t change.

What a load of crap, this prog rock is. I can’t believe we are really just getting started with it. On the other hand, if I stumble on something in this genre that is really amazing and changes my opinion of it, I will be reluctantly joyful about it.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to?  Come on, it’s just awful.

Rating (Out of 5): .0

Tarkus Amazon Review (Out of 5): 5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (185/233)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 80%

2 comments on “769. Tarkus – Emerson, Lake and Palmer

  1. Crash and Ride Music
    September 1, 2015

    You must not like prog haha It seems every prog album that makes your list gets a low rating.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 31, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
