1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

774. L.A. Woman – The Doors

 

Brief Background: L.A. Woman was recorded in about a week  during the beginning of January 1971  using a makeshift recording studio set up inside their rehearsal space. The songs were often just recorded in one or two takes and the album features a minimal amount of overdubs. This would be the last studio recording of Morrison who would die in a Paris bathtub three months after the release of the album.

What I think: 

This is certainly my favorite Doors album since their debut, with the looseness in the studio really coming through. The album is far from perfect though with just about half of the songs making an impact on me. “L.A. Woman” and “Riders on the Storm” are the epic centerpieces that finish each side of the album. I love the energy of “L.A. Woman” and “Riders” has always been a decent song to me, but nothing special. I do really like the instrumental parts on each of the songs as well. “The Changeling” may be my favorite on the album, because it sounds like an early ’70s version of The Talking Heads and “The WASP” has a weird funkiness and a mostly spoken vocal part that I’m surprised I like. As for the remaining six songs, they are just sort of “OK” and have to much  white boy bluesiness and depressive Morrison lyrics to them.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I’ll allow it, it’s a nice bookend to go along with their debut album.

Rating (Out of 5): 3

L.A. Woman Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (180/228)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 79%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2015 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!
