1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

784. The Yes Album – Yes

Brief Background: The Yes Album was recorded in the fall of 1970 and released in February of 1971. The album cover show’s the band hours after being released from the hospital following an automobile accident.

What I think: 

Other than the first track, “Yours Is No Disgrace”, this is a really good album. In fact, “Disgrace” isn’t even all that bad it’s more that the small pieces of songs put into one big song seems un-cohesive and forced (as they often do when anybody tries to do it).  So let’s forget that one and start with “Clap” which is a live sort of country/bluegrass song that is really nice and really pretty. In fact pretty is a descriptor I can use to describe most of the album. The vocals have great, soft harmonies and qualify. The guitar solos, are gentle and non-tangential, even the flute parts are gentle and actually add to the music (Take that Jethro). My favorite here is “I’ve Seen All Good People” with it’s touching organ and vocal part and “Starship Trooper” which is a multi-part suite that actually works well as one song and doesn’t seem jerky and full of unnecessary time changes.

I can’t say I’m a fan of Prog-Rock, but this actually pretty good. It lacks pretension and doesn’t feel the least bit forced in either emotion or arraignment.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I do think this should be here. Good job Yes, you’ve gone and given me a surprise.

Rating (Out of 5): 4

The Yes Album Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (173/218)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 79%

2 comments on “784. The Yes Album – Yes

  1. kenoalbumreview
    July 7, 2015

    This is a great album. Although most of Yes’s albums have that “pretension” as your phrased it, this album incorporates it nicely. I’d also recommend Time And A Word in your free time if you like this one.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2015 by and tagged , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.
