1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

789. The Madcap Laughs – Syd Barrett

Brief Background: The Madcap Laughs was recorded over a period of a year and a half with three different producers. The last being Roger Waters and David Gilmour who recorded Barrett between working on Pink Floyd in quick sessions to try to get the album out. It was finally released in January of 1970.

What I think: 

This is such a tale of two albums. The songs recorded by Malcom Jones in April of 1969 (1-4,6) are really catchy and quirky British psychedelic pop-rock and are simply wonderful. “Here I Go” is my favorite and shows a humor I simply wasn’t expecting from Barrett. These songs seem like the blue print for bands and musicians like Pavement, They Might Be Giants and Jonathan Richman down the road. In other words it seems like the basis for quirky Indie Rock.

The other half of the album on the other hand is a different story, they aren’t necessarily bad and all have glimmers of beauty, but they are what I would expect from a musician who’s gone off the deep end. They are uneven, weird, dark and at times devolve into chaos. The odd part is this doesn’t seem to be the fault of Barrett, but the product of procurers Gilmour and Waters.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? It’s uneven, but when it’s good, it’s really catchy and uplifting. I like it and think it is worthy of being here.

Rating (Out of 5): 3.5

The Madcap Laughs Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (169/214)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 79%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
