1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

795. Tea for the Tillerman – Cat Stevens

 Original Album Tracks 1-11

Brief Background: Recorded from May to July 1970 and released in November of the same year, Tea for the Tillerman was Steven’s big break in the United States.

What I think: This album certainly didn’t go where I expected it to. I know Steven’s from his hit singles and mostly enjoy them, so I thought the album would be good as well. That really wasn’t the case here though, and after a lot of thought I don’t really can’t pinpoint why I feel that way. My best guess is that I just don’t really enjoy his brand of folk that tends to be slow and sometimes preachy. “Hard Headed Women” and “Father and Son” are the two biggest culprits in this category. Everything isn’t a complete loss here though “Where Do the Children Play?” is a nice start for the album. The cautionary “Wild World” is a great song as well, but I think my favorite is “Longer Boats” with it’s work song energy and cool organ riffs.

 

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? Three/eleven on enjoyable songs isn’t very good. I’m disappointed with it’s consistency and wouldn’t have put it on this list.

Rating (Out of 5): 2

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (162/207)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 24, 2015 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
