1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

796. Bridge Over Troubled Water – Simon and Garfunkel

 

Brief Background: Recorded over the period of a year from November 1968 to November 1969, Bridge Over Troubled water was released in January of 1970. Most of the album was written by Paul Simon while Art Garfunkel was recording the movie Catch-22.

What I think: I’m just going to put this out there, I absolutely love this album! The recording of the with the vocals sort of mixed in with the music really makes it have a really interesting and full sound. (I didn’t even notice this was the case until putting the album through my television “Surround Sound” system.) The boxer even has the horns mixed all the way to the right speaker, which sounds really crazy if you are listening to it on something with spread out speakers.  It really reminds me (especially “Bridge Over Troubled Water”) of The Righteous Brothers “You’ve Lost That Loving Feeling”.

It’s hard to pick a favorite here, but I think I have to go with “Cecilia”. I really get a kick out of the playfulness and seriousness of the song being stirred  all together. A close second is “The Boxer” and those “lye la lye’s”. On second thought… ( was just about to hit publish) my goodness, “The Only Living Boy in New York” absolutely heartbreaking and perfect. On the other side, “So Long, Frank Lloyd Wright” seems weak and the random (but really good) live track of “Bye Bye Love” just seems out of place.

This is easily the best Simon and Garfunkel album I’ve heard and I can see it being a permanent part of my rotation.

 

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? It’s very nearly a masterpiece and certainly belongs here.

Rating (Out of 5): 4.5

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (161/206)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 22, 2015 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
